Cobbler Confession

26 04 2009

Hello, my name is Kathryn and I am a cobbler addict. I don’t know why I have gotten ants in my pants for cobbler this week, but as of 20 minutes ago, I have made THREE in the span of 5 days. Mayhap being pregnant has triggered something in me that wants to pull up the past, because cobbler is one of those things that I have very strong childhood memories of. I remember spending hours picking blackberries in East Texas and returning with buckets of them, stained fingers and more than our fair share of scratches from thorns. I remember the smell of the blackberries when you stumbled upon a patch of them and the excitement of tumbling out of the car with my sisters with the hope that this patch would have the biggest and sweetest ones yet. And finally, I remember my great grandmother making us a cobbler out of the berries. The perfect conclusion to a day of hard work. Cobbler is one of those things that is so delicious, yet so simple. Any fresh fruit will do, but I am partial to blackberries and the occaisional peach:

blackberries

With any cobbler, the first step is washing and if necessary, cutting up,  the fruit and putting it in a mixing bowl. To the bowl add about 1/2 a cup of sugar, mix it together and set it aside. Obviously here at the beautiful diabetic, we try not to use too much refined sugar, but sometimes it’s unavoidable. When making cobblers you NEED that syrup that forms when the sugar and pectin interact and Splenda and other fake sugars, just don’t cut it. Half a cup of sugar in the grand scheme of the recipe isn’t alot and won’t have too much impact on your blood sugar. Here are the peaches after about 30 minutes of co-mingling with the sugar:

peaches

And here are the blackberries:blackberry syrup

Cobbler is one of those things that really is super simple to make. If you are easily intimidated by baking, this is a great place for you start. For the cakey part of the cobbler, melt about a 1/2 cup of butter in a medium sized casserole. To this, add 1 cup of flour, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, a dash of salt, 2 or 3 tablespoons of Splenda (or other non sugar sweetner) and a cup of milk. Simple huh?? Mix it all together and then spoon your fruit onto the top of it:

spooning-into-batter

Don’t mix it together! The dough will rise up through the fruit as it bakes. Pop it into the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes or so (your oven will vary, as I use a convection oven) and keep an eye on it. You are waiting for the batter to come through the fruit and start turning golden brown:

peach-in-oven

That’s it. Take it out. You have cobbler! Serve it hot with vanilla ice cream or whip cream. This is the peach:

peach-on-plate

The blackberry:black-bite

Now, can you blame me for making THREE of these this week?

perfect-peachy-bite

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 04 2009
Eivind

best cobbler ever!

26 04 2009
Jen Yu

Nice move, sweetie! Love WP!! Were you able to transfer all of your old posts and comments too from Blogger? yay!!! xxoo

27 04 2009
cesnh

So you inspired me to move also – I’d been thinking about it but…

Leave a Reply

