the one where we tackle mushroom, asparagus risotto

28 04 2009

I had one of those days where I got the idea that I really needed to have risotto for dinner. I’m not sure why, as I have not had a lot of risotto in my day and have no particular reason to be craving it, but alas, I was. I’ve never tried to make risotto before, mostly because I have heard that it takes ALOT of stirring.

Incessant stirring.

And we all know that patience in the kitchen is not one of my strong points, but I was feeling up for a challenge, so I consulted my good friend Recipezaar for a recipe. I settled on a basic risotto recipe which just so happened to be award winning and decided I could add whatever I wanted to that basic recipe. I chose mushrooms and asparagus:

Start with mushrooms, asparagus, onion and garlic

Start with mushrooms, asparagus, onion and garlic

Next, I melted a few tablespoons of butter in a large pan and sauteed some onion, garlic and the mushrooms until they were soft:

sautee the onion, garlic and mushrooms in butter

sautee the onion, garlic and mushrooms in butter

After about 4 minutes add the risotto rice, I used Arborio rice, and sautee that for about 5 minutes. Now, I’m not sure of all of the hard and fast rules of what kind of rice to use and when, but I am pretty sure you need to use a short grained rice to make risotto. Your Uncle Bens instant will not work here. So, add the rice and stir it for a bit and it will start to get a nutty smell and begin to turn golden:

add the rice and cook for about 5 minutes before adding broth

add the rice and cook for about 5 minutes before adding broth

Now comes the super fun part of slowly adding the broth and stirring constantly. You will know you are making risotto the right way when:

1. your arm feels like it may drop off

2. your husband keeps asking every 5 minutes if it’s done already

I didn’t take pictures of the adding the broth part cause I couldn’t reach the camera and I was under strict instructions to NOT STOP STIRRING, even for a moment. So, the next shot I was able to get was at the add the parmesean phase:

Adding about a cup of fresh parmesean

Adding about a cup of fresh parmesean

I added the asparagus when I added the parmesean so that it wouldn’t get mushy and just stirred everything until the parmesean was incorporated and fully melted:

just about ready to eat

just about ready to eat

That’s it! Dish it up and you have a delicious risotto that will only take you a little over an hour to make! So, yea, it’s NOT a quick dish to get on the table, but the flavors are excellent and you can’t beat the creamy texture that the slow adding of the broth brings about. Very tasty:

dinner is ready

dinner is ready

Yummy, ricey, creamy goodness:

bite-of-risotto

Actions

Information

One response

3 05 2009
Kristen B.

Hi! I dont remember how I stumbled across “the Beautiful Diabetic” blog a long while back, but I LOVE reading what you write! I am also from Port Arthur, but live nearby in Groves now. I happen to be Diabetic as well. I just wanted to say you are great and brave and beautiful,thank you for giving us something worthwhile to read. I wish you well : )
kristen

Leave a Reply

